Some Helpful Site For Building Online Store with WordPress

WordPress is a popular blogging platform and content management system, but it can also be used for powering e-commerce websites. Although its primary purpose is not e-commerce, there are a number of plugins and themes available that will allow you to use WordPress for your online store (some are free and some are premium).

In this post we’ll take a look at some of the resources that can help you to set up your own e-commerce site on WordPress.

Plugins:

WordPress e-Commerce Plugin
An extremely popular plugin that offers a lot of options for setting up an online store with WordPress. WP e-Commerce integrates with PayPal, Google Checkout, Authorize.net and more. Designers will have the flexibility to tweak and customize the appearance as well.

Shopp
Another popular e-commerce plugin. The cost is $55 for a single-site license or $299 for a developer’s license. The plugin includes a lot of features, including several payment options and flexible shipping calculations.

eShop
eShop is a free plugin that also has a lot of features and options for setting up an e-commerce site with WordPress.

Quick Shop
Quick Shop is a free plugin that users sidebar widgets to create a simple shopping cart. You can place tags in your post that will generate a form to add products to the cart.

YAK for WordPress
YAK is a free plugin that creates a simple shopping cart that associates products with posts, so it uses the post ID as the product ID.

Themes:

Crafty Cart
A free e-commerce theme designed to work with the e-commerce plugin.

SimpleCart(js)
A new free theme from Chris Wallace (a child theme for Thematic).

Ecommerce Theme
A premium theme from iThemes. A single-use license costs $79.95 and a developer’s license costs $199.

Market Theme
A premium theme that provides you with everything you need to run an e-commerce site with WordPress. The cost is $55 for a standard license or $150 for a developer’s license.

WPShop
A premium theme that is available through ThemeForest for $35. Includes 2 child themes.

eGoods
Another premium theme that is available through ThemeForest for $30. Includes 3 child themes.

ArtShop
Another premium theme that is available through ThemeForest for $30. Includes 2 themes, each with a child theme.

Tutorials:

How to Create an E-Commerce Website with WordPress in Under 5 Minutes
This video tutorial will show you how install WordPress, change the them, and use the e-commerce plugin to quickly get an e-commerce website online. The focus is on getting the basics set up rather than going in to great details of the plugin settings and options.

Getting Set Up with the WP e-Commerce Plugin: Settings and Configuration
This video tutorial covers how to get set up with the WP e-Commerce plugin for your online shop.

How to Build an Online Store with WordPress
A basic article from iThemes about what you will need to get an e-commerce site started with WordPress.

Foxy Cart

56-integrating-foxycart-and-wordpress

19 Responses

  1. I’m so glad I found this site…Keep up the good work

  2. Great site…keep up the good work.

  3. Interesting article. Were did you got all the information from… 🙂

  4. Super-Duper site! I am loving it!! Will come back again – taking you feeds also, Thanks.

  5. I keep listening to the news speak about getting free online grant applications so I have been looking around for the best site to get one.

  6. This blog rocks! I gotta say, that I read a lot of blogs on a daily basis and for the most part, people lack substance but, I just wanted to make a quick comment to say I’m glad I found your blog. Thanks,

  7. Hey good stuff…keep up the good work! I read a lot of blogs on a daily basis and for the most part, people lack substance but, I just wanted to make a quick comment to say I’m glad I found your blog. Thanks,)

    A definite great read…

    -Bill-Bartmann

  8. Of course, what a great site and informative posts, I will add backlink – bookmark this site? Regards, Reader.

  9. found your site on del.icio.us today and really liked it.. i bookmarked it and will be back to check it out some more later ..

  10. You made some good points there. I did a search on the topic and found most people will agree with your blog.

  11. Super-Duper site! I am loving it!! Will come back again – taking you feeds also, Thanks.

  12. As a Newbie, I am always searching online for articles that can help me. Thank you

  13. Such a usefule blog…wow !!!!

  14. Wow! what an idea ! What a concept ! Beautiful .. Amazing …

  15. thanks !! very helpful post!

  16. thank your for your usefull article which give me tips to create e-commerce with wordpress

  17. Generally I do not post on blogs, but I would like to say that this post really forced me to do so, Excellent post!

    I’m Out! 🙂

  18. Awesome Post. I add this Blog to my bookmarks.

  19. Saw this post and thought i would throw my hat into the ring so to speak. My team are about a week away from creating the “holy grail” of wordpress ecommerce a fully functional and secure osCommerce plug in for WP.

    Yes it is a monster task, but thankfully i have a genius running the team and we are 80% with no issues to date.

    We are also looking for beta testers..you can sign up at http://www.wponlinestore.com

    Cheers
    Garf

Leave a comment